Puff Puffs…Yumm!!!

I decided to make these for my husband today so I thought I’d share. These are so easy to make and yet oh so yummy. The great thing about these is, you can spice this recipe by adding chucks of fruit or pureed fruit into the batter. Below is my simple version.

Here’s what you’ll need.

3 cups of unbleached floor
3 cups of water
1.5 cups of sugar
2 tsp of baking powder or fast rising yeast
1 Tbsp of ground nutmeg
1 Tbsp of vanilla extract
2 quarts of vegetable oil
1 tsp of salt

1. Mix all dry dry ingredients together well
2. Pour water into dry mix and mix well, until the batter is very smooth. The batter should have a pancake consistency.
3. Heat oil well in a deep pot until it is hot. (I usually do a test run. Pour a small amount of batter into the heated oil, it should float up within 5 seconds. If not your oil is not hot enough.)
3. Using a medium spoon, poor batter into oil while gently twisting the spoon into a counter-clockwise motion.
4. Cook until puff puffs are golden brown.
5. Sprinkle some powdered sugar over puff puffs and serve.

2 Comments

  1. Missy M. said,

    August 5, 2011 at 6:02 pm

    I found your blog from LHCF and I love it!
    Continue to post your recipes, I’m enjoying the step by step pictures very much!!!

  2. heatherinsf said,

    October 25, 2011 at 6:11 pm

    Yay, puff puffs! and they are egg-free! bonus for me these days. S___ is so very lucky to have you make these…


Leave a Reply

