Breakfast Haitian style (bannan a Oeuf)

This morning (well, more like around 12pm) I decided to make this for the first time since moving out of my mother’s house. Eggs and plantain are two of my favorite foods, two things that I could eat daily. I loved it when my mother made eggs for me and I vowed that I would master it one day. So this is how I make Bannan a Oeuf.

3 eggs
2 sweet plantains
Thyme
I maggi cube
Smoked herring
Mortar and Pestel
Distilled vinegar
Onion
Epise (this is a special seasoning that I make)

In a medium pot place enough water to cover the plantains and bring to a boil. Once the water starts to boil add the plantains and allow to cook for 20 minutes. Since these plantains are sweet it’s important not to allow them to overcook, otherwise they will become mushy.
Photobucket

Once the plantains are cooked the skin will begin to separate from the plantain.
Photobucket

Now to cook the eggs
1. Since the smoke herring is very salty it will need to be de-salted before using. I usually do this overnight since it takes several hours for the water to absorb all of the salt from the fish.
Photobucket
Smoked herring de-salted overnight.
Photobucket
2.In a bowl crack the egg and place aside

In your mortar and Pestel smash up one piece of smoked herring.
Photobucket
Once this is done add it to the eggs, with the thyme, chopped onions, Half of a Jamaican hot pepper chopped finely, 1/2 of a maggi cube, 1 tsp of Haitian epise (optional), and 1/2 tsp of vinegar, then mix all of the ingredients together.
Photobucket
Photobucket

In a medium skillet add extra virgin olive oil (or whichever oil you desire) and heat until very hot.
Photobucket
Once the oil is adequately hot add the egg mixture and allow to cook (I don’t like my eggs too dry so I don’t cook them until they are well done)
Photobucket

And Voila! It was delicious.
Photobucket

2 Comments

  1. November 21, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    Are you looking for Smoked herring to buy online? at seaspecialties.com they are available with affordable prices. herring is sold fresh and frozen, whole or as fillets, canned, marinated, salt-cured and smoked.

  2. Sabine said,

    September 24, 2011 at 7:09 am

    Why do you add vinegar? I’ve never heard of adding vinegar before…


Leave a Reply

