A Gambian delight.

My husband being the adventurous soul that he is decided that we should try making this dish. He had it at a friend’s house and loved it. His constant pleading finally got to me so I finally agreed to make it for him. Initially HE was suppose to make this but I had to step in eventually.

So here we are, Gambian Plasas.

The items you will need.
1.5 lbs of beef cut into cubes
2 lbs of smoked fish
2 bags of frozen chopped spinash
Peanut butter (we used hand made Haitian peanut butter)
Adobo
1 Maggi cube
1 Onion
1 Sweet pepper
Chile peppers
3/4 cup of red palm oil
West African hot pepper powder

Chop up the onion and sweet pepper and set aside
Photobucket
Debone the fish. Split it in half and then remove the bones.
Photobucket
After you’ve finished de-boning, you can either dice the fish with a knife or flake it with a fork. I did both. Once you are done with the fish, set it aside.
Photobucket
Now for the beef, spice the beef with the adobo and allow to marinate for about 10 minutes
Photobucket

Now for the cooking….
Pour 3/4 cup of red palm oil into a large skillet. Allow to heat up before adding in the meat. Brown the meat until all of the red is gone.
Photobucket
Once you are done browning the meat add in the onions, sweet peppers and chilies. Then, crush the maggi cube in your hand and sprinkle on the vegetables and meat. Allow to simmer for about 10 mins.
Photobucket

Pour in 3 1/2 cups of water. Cover and let cook for 1.5 hours
Photobucket
Season the spinach with the adobo (to taste). I also monitor the flavor of my food while it’s cooking
Photobucket
Add in the fish and allow to cook for 20-30 minutes.
Photobucket
While the spinach and fish are cooking, mix 1/2 cup of peanut butter with warm water until it is creamy
Photobucket
Photobucket.
After the spinach and fish are done cooking, pour in the peanut butter.
Photobucket
Mix all of the ingredients together.
Photobucket
Allow to cook for another 15 minutes. We ate it with white rice. Yum!!!
Photobucket

The day after we also ate this for dinner. We went to an Indian restaurant down the street and bought some paratha and Naan and made a meal out of it.

3 Comments

  1. Taylor said,

    September 24, 2010 at 11:08 am

    This looks Delish! Happy to hhave stumbled across your blog. I have a couple of questions though…what type of Adobe is this you are using? I see it is a sauce as opposed to a rub. Also, Maggi Cube…I Googled since I had never heard of this. I assume I could use a Bouillion Cube, which flavor. I’m sorry I need specifics, I LOVE new foods and my husband will love this too.

    • September 24, 2010 at 11:18 am

      Thanks, It was so good. If you scroll down the blog, I have a picture of the Adobo that I use. It’s the regular Goya one with the red top. It’s a yellow powder. Yes, the maggi that I use is square with a red and gold wrapper. The box has chicken on it (chicken flavored). Let me know of you need more info.

      Thanks!

  2. Sithembile said,

    October 30, 2010 at 5:42 am

    This looks yummy, I’m going to try it soon. What is Adobo, I live in the UK and I don’t think we have that brand.


Leave a Reply

