A little bit of this

I’ve been so busy and a little lazy lately that I’ve sort of been putting updating to the back burner. As far as my hair is concerned I haven’t been doing anything much to it lately. A couple of weeks ago I went to see a dermatologist about my constant scalp itch. Because of my new regimen, I haven’t been washing daily like I used to. I originally planned to wash every two weeks By the end of the first week the itching became unbearable. It got to the point where my scalp would bleed from the constant scratching. My hair dresser hinted that I may have eczema of the so I decided to see a doctor about it. Ultimately, the dermatologist figured out that I’ve been suffering from Cholinergic Uticaria. The scalp symptoms and the hives that I get from exercising led him to that conclusion. He prescribed me a steroid solution to apply to my scalp when the itching gets really bad. So far things have been much better. I plan to continue my straight hair regimen. I will be doing less Dominican blowouts since I think this aggravates the problem. I also purchased some black earth products that I’ve been dying to try. I’ll be sure to write a review on those. Now for the fun stuff! For the labor day weekend my husband and I decided to take an impromptu road trip to North Carolina, more specifically Durham. I’ve always wanted to go back there since the last time I went in 2005. In total it took us about 13 hours to get there. Normally the trip should take about 8 hours but we decided to take the scenic route. It was a wonderful but tiring trip.

A view of the mountains in New Jersey.
Photobucket
Photobucket
We met the nicest man there who took this picture of us. I wore a wash and go the entire weekend. Dealing with straight hair and the NC heat would have been a disaster.
Photobucket
No comment lol
Photobucket
Photobucket
Scenic overlook in VA. They didn’t say it was illegal…
Photobucket
Us being silly in Richmond.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Virginia
Photobucket
This picture right here is the funniest thing that I’ve ever seen. Judge for yourself…
Photobucket
Flower thieving is VA…
Photobucket
We went to an international festival in Raleigh, NC. It was alright…
Photobucket

5 Comments

  1. Joenell said,

    September 22, 2010 at 5:58 pm

    heyyyy, that’s cool. i moved from VA to Durham back in June, and my SO is from Jersey (Rahway). where in durham did you go?

  2. Amber said,

    October 10, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    Thank you for showing that New Jersey isn’t a pile of dirty sand and trashy people… this is an awesome site. Perhaps sometime soon you can share a recipe for shrimp? I’ve been looking for something outside of simple garlic shrimp over rice.

  3. Phaer said,

    November 9, 2010 at 10:58 am

    Ok, I would first like to preface this by saying that I am not really a fish person, so my question may seem stupid. I really want to try this recipe out but am confused as to what kind of fish to buy…Salmon, Trout…? and do you then smoke it? or do I just go to the grocery store and ask for smoke fish?

    I am loving your blog, maybe I can finally learn to cook like my mama. I am anxiously awaiting your next installment.

    • November 21, 2010 at 1:05 pm

      Hi Phaer,
      I used smoke whiting. I wouldn’t used smoke salmon since salmon would over power the dish and would break become mush.


Leave a Reply

